2001 Profile of the division of Rankin

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Dame Annabelle Rankin (1908–1986), first Queensland woman elected to the Senate (1946–1971) and the first Australian woman to hold a top-level diplomatic post as High Commissioner to New Zealand (1971–1974).

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 151 sq km taking in some outer suburbs of Brisbane, through Logan City to the Pacific Highway south to the Logan Freeway along the boundary between Logan and Beaudesert Shires west to Greenbank.

The division includes the following suburbs of Brisbane and the suburbs of Logan City namely Boronia Heights, Browns Plains, Calamvale, Regents Park, Runcorn, Sunnybank Hills and Woodridge.

Products/Industries of the area:

The area covers a diverse area from residential and acreage suburbs as well as some light industry.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Craig Emerson (ALP) 1998–
  • D Beddall (ALP) 1984–98

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses.

Demographic Rating

Outer Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 77 968

Informal Vote: 4.45%

Turnout: 93.07%

Seat Status: Fairly safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 58.69%
  • LP: 41.31%

Enrolment: 79 913

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.96%
  • Preamble Question 1.06%


  • Republic Question 94.01%
  • Preamble Question 93.99%

Enrolment: 85 204

Informal Vote: 6.6%

Turnout: 93.7%

Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 56.68%
  • LP: 43.32%