2001 Profile of the division of Moreton

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located. Captain James Cook named Moreton Bay in 1770 after the Earl of Morton, which was misspelt to become Moreton.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 107 sq km from the Brisbane River and Oxley Creek in the north west and west to Rochedale and Underwood in the east. The main suburbs include Annerley, Chelmer, Coopers Plains, Eight Mile Plains, Fairfield, Graceville, Holland Park West, Kuraby, Macgregor, Moorooka, Mount Gravatt, Nathan, Robertson, Rocklea, Runcorn, Salisbury, Sherwood, Sunnybank, Tarragindi, Tennyson, Underwood, Upper Mount Gravatt, Wishart, Yeronga and Yeerongpilly.

Products/Industries of the area:

The area is mainly residential with some light industrial and commercial activities.

First Proclaimed/Election



  • Gary Hardgrave (LP) 1996–
  • G D Gibson (ALP) 1990–96
  • D M Cameron (LP) 1983–90
  • D J Killen (LP) 1955–83
  • J Francis (NAT/UAP/LP) 1922–55
  • A Wienholt (NAT/CP) 1919–22
  • H Sinclair (ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1906–19
  • J Wilkinson (IND LAB/ALP) 1901–06

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Inner Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 85 564

Informal Vote: 3.03%

Turnout: 94.26%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 49.43%
  • LP: 50.57%

Enrolment: 86 317

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.68%
  • Preamble Question 0.72%


  • Republic Question 94.65%
  • Preamble Question 94.64%

Enrolment: 89 254

Informal Vote: 4.3%

Turnout: 94.02%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 45.79%
  • LP: 54.21%