2004 Profile of the division of Makin

Updated: 9 February 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Norman Makin 1889–1982, Member of the House of Representatives 1919–46, 1954–63 and Speaker of the House 1929–31.

Area and Location Description:

Makin covers an area of approximately 115 sq km from the Little Para River and Gould Creek in the north to Grand Junction Road in the south. The suburbs of Banksia Park, Fairview Park, Gepps Cross, Golden Grove, Greenwith, Gulfview Heights, Hope Valley, Ingle Farm, Modbury, Para Hills, Para Vista, Pooraka, Redwood Park, Ridgehaven, Salisbury East, Salisbury Heights, St Agnes, Surrey Downs, Tea Tree Gully, Valley View, Vista, Walkley Heights, Wynn Vale and Yatala Vale are in this division.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light manufacturing, commercial and retail industry, wineries, horse studs, hobby farmers, poultry, brick making and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • DRAPER, T (LP) 1996–
  • DUNCAN, P (ALP) 1984–1996

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 93 908
  • Informal Vote: 5.41%
  • Turnout: 95.47%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 50.93% | ALP: 49.07%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.