2004 Profile of the division of Lowe

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Robert Lowe (later Viscount Sherbrooke) 1811–92, who advocated the discontinuance of the transportation of convicts to New South Wales.

Area and Location Description:

Lowe covers an area of approximately 41 sq km from the Parramatta River in the north, Drummoyne and Haberfield in the east, Enfield in the south, Homebush West and Concord West in the west. The main suburbs include Abbotsford, Breakfast Point, Burwood, Cabarita, Canada Bay, Chiswick, Concord, Croydon, Drummoyne, Enfield, Five Dock, Haberfield, Homebush, Liberty Grove, Mortlake, Rhodes, Russell Lea and Strathfield.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Wholesale and retail trades, including Sydney Markets. The area is noted for large numbers of nursing homes and private schools.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • MURPHY, J (ALP) 1998–
  • ZAMMIT, P (LP) 1996–1998
  • EASSON, M (ALP) 1993–1996
  • WOODS, R (LP) 1987–1993
  • MAHER, M J (ALP) 1982–1987
  • MCMAHON, W (LP) 1949–1982

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 86 700
  • Informal Vote: 6.55%
  • Turnout: 94.31%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 46.7% | ALP: 53.3%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.