2001 Profile of the division of Lowe

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Robert Lowe (1811–1892), later Viscount Sherbrooke, who advocated the discontinuance of the transportation of convicts to New South Wales. He supported the interests of convicts, workers and townspeople during his political career.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 41 sq km from the Parramatta River in the north, Drummoyne and Haberfield in the east, Enfield in the south, Homebush West and Concord West in the west.

The main suburbs include Abbotsford, Burwood, Concord, Croydon, Drummoyne, Enfield, Five Dock, Haberfield, Homebush, Mortlake, Russell Lea and Strathfield.

Products/Industries of the area:

Wholesale and retail trades, including Sydney Markets.  The area is noted for large numbers of nursing homes and private schools.

First Proclaimed



  • John Murphy (ALP) 1998–
  • P Zammit (LP) 1996–98
  • M Easson (ALP) 1993–96
  • (Dr)R Woods (LP) 1987–93
  • M J Maher (ALP) 1982–87
  • (Sir)W McMahon (LP) 1949–82

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Inner Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 81 910

Informal Vote: 4.61%

Turnout: 94.95%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 54.63%
  • LP: 45.37%

Enrolment: 84 056

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.98%
  • Preamble Question 1.12%


  • Republic Question 94.59%
  • Preamble Question 94.60%

Enrolment: 83 707

Informal Vote: 5.8%

Turnout: 94.91%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 53.81%
  • LP: 46.19%