2004 Profile of the division of Lilley

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Charles Lilley 1830–97, former Premier and Chief Justice of Queensland.

Area and Location Description:

Lilley covers an area of approximately 142 sq km of north eastern Brisbane. The main suburbs include Albion, Ascot, Aspley, Banyo, Boondall, Brighton, Chermside, Clayfield, Deagon, Geebung, Gordon Park, Hamilton, Hendra, Kedron, Lutwyche, Northgate, Nudgee, Nundah, Pinkenba, Sandgate, Shorncliffe, Taigum, Virginia, Wavell Heights, Wooloowin and Zillmere.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The area is mostly residential. Also included are Brisbane's domestic and international airports, light and heavy engineering, sea-cargo facilities, chemical production, warehousing (civilian and military), oil refining and storage and various small industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • SWAN, W (ALP) 1998–
  • GRACE, E (LP) 1996–1998
  • SWAN, W M (ALP) 1993–1996
  • DARLING, E E (ALP) 1980–1993
  • CAIRNS, K M (LP) 1974–1980
  • DOYLE, F E (ALP) 1972–1974
  • CAIRNS, K M (LP) 1963–1972
  • CAMERON, D J (ALP) 1961–1963
  • WIGHT, B (LP) 1949–1961
  • HADLEY, J W (ALP) 1943–1949
  • JOLLEY, W A (UAP) 1937–1943
  • CAMERON, D C (UAP) 1934–1937
  • MACKAY, G H (NAT/UAP) 1917–1934
  • STUMM, J (LIB) 1913–1917

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 92 235
  • Informal Vote: 4.65%
  • Turnout: 93.59%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 44.73% | ALP: 55.27%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.