2004 Profile of the division of Deakin

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Alfred Deakin 1856–1919, Prime Minister of Australia 1903–04, 1905–08 and 1909–10.

Area and Location Description:

Deakin covers an area of approximately 61 sq km from Blackburn in the west to Croydon in the east. The main suburbs include Bayswater North, Blackburn, Blackburn North, Blackburn South, Burwood East, Croydon, Croydon South, Forest Hill, Heathmont, Mitcham, Nunawading, Ringwood, Ringwood East, Ringwood North and Vermont.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mainly residential with some light manufacturing, commercial and retail industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • BARRESI, P (LP) 1996–
  • ALDRED, K J (LP) 1990–1996
  • BEALE, J H (LP) 1984–1990
  • SAUNDERSON, J (ALP) 1983–1984
  • JARMAN, A W (LP) 1966–1983
  • DAVIS, F J (LP) 1949–1966
  • HUTCHINSON, W J (LP) 1937–1949

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 87 436
  • Informal Vote: 3.06%
  • Turnout: 95.43%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 54.97% | ALP: 45.03%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.