2004 Profile of the division of Paterson

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Andrew 'Banjo' Paterson 1864–1941, Australian author and poet. There is also conjecture that the division was first named in 1947 after Colonel William Paterson 1755–1810 after whom the town and river within the division were named.

Area and Location Description:

Paterson covers an area of approximately 9 632 sq km and extends from the Hunter River in the south to the boundary of Greater Taree in the north and west to the Great Dividing Range. The main towns include Beresfield, Bulahdelah, Dungog, Forster, Gloucester, Hawks Nest, Morpeth, Nabiac, Nelson Bay, Paterson, Raymond Terrace, Stroud, Thornton, Tuncurry and Woodberry.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Timber, beef and dairy cattle, mixed farming, maize, sawmilling, fishing and oyster farming, tourism, general engineering, aluminium smelting.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1947/1949 (Division was abolished in 1984 and re-established at the 1992 redistribution.)

Demographic Rating:



  • BALDWIN, B (LP) 2001–
  • HORNE, R H (ALP) 1998–2001
  • BALDWIN, R C (LP) 1996–1998
  • HORNE, R H (ALP) 1993–1996
  • O'KEEFE, F L (CP/NCP/NP) 1969–1984
  • FAIRHALL, A (LP) 1949–1969

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 88 057
  • Informal Vote: 6.13%
  • Turnout: 96.08%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 56.97% | ALP: 43.03%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.