2001 Profile of the division of Paterson

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Andrew (Banjo) Paterson (1864–1941), Australian author and poet. There is also conjecture that the division was first named in 1947 after Colonel William Paterson (1755–1810) after whom the town and river within the division were named.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 9632 sq km and extends from the Hunter River in the south to the boundary of Greater Taree in the north and west to the Great Dividing Range.

The main towns include Beresfield, Bulahdelah, Dungog, Forster, Gloucester, Hawks Nest, Morpeth, Nabiac, Nelson Bay, Paterson, Raymond Terrace, Stroud, Thornton, Tuncurry and Woodberry.

Products/Industries of the area:

Timber, beef and dairy cattle, mixed farming, maize, sawmilling, fishing and oyster farming, tourism, general engineering, aluminium smelting.

First Proclaimed


(Division was abolished in 1984 and re-established at the 1992 redistribution).


  • Bob Baldwin (LP) 2001–
  • R H Horne (ALP) 1998–2001
  • R C Baldwin (LP) 1996–98
  • R H Horne (ALP) 1993–96
  • F L O'Keefe (CP/NCP/NP) 1969–84
  • A Fairhall (LP) 1949–69

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses.

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 82 019

Informal Vote: 3.33%

Turnout: 96.69%

Seat Status: Marginal Labor

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 51.22%
  • LP: 48.78%

Enrolment: 84 193

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.72%
  • Preamble Question 0.80%


  • Republic Question 96.89%
  • Preamble Question 96.87%

Enrolment: 82 782

Informal Vote: 3.61%

Turnout: 96.65%

Seat Status: Marginal Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 48.58%
  • LP: 51.42%