2004 Profile of the division of North Sydney

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Area and Location Description:

North Sydney covers an area of approximately 39 sq km from Sydney Harbour in the south to North Willoughby in the north and from Middle Harbour in the east to Parramatta River at Hunters Hill in the west. The main suburbs include Artarmon, Cammeray, Castlecrag, Cremorne, Cremorne Point, Crows Nest, Gore Hill, Gladesville, Greenwich, Henley, Hunters Hill, Huntleys Point, Kirribilli, Lane Cove, Lane Cove West, Lavender Bay, Linley Point, Longueville, McMahons Point, Milsons Point, Naremburn, Neutral Bay, Northbridge, North Sydney, North Willoughby, Northwood, Riverview, St Leonards, Tarban, Waverton, Willoughby, Wollstonecraft, and Woolwich.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

North Sydney is the third largest business centre in Australia. It contains communications, property and business services, and wholesale and retail industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • HOCKEY, J (LP) 1996–
  • MACK, E C (IND) 1990–1996
  • SPENDER, J M (LP) 1980–1990
  • GRAHAM, B W (LP) 1966–1980
  • JACK, W M (LP) 1949–1966
  • HUGHES, W M (NAT/IND/NAT/UAP/LP) 1922–1949
  • RYRIE, G (LIB/NAT) 1911–1922
  • EDWARDS, G B (LIB) 1910–1911
  • THOMPSON, D (FT) 1901–1910

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 89 083
  • Informal Vote: 3.65%
  • Turnout: 93.43%
  • Seat Status: Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 60.03% | ALP: 39.97%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.