2001 Profile of the division of North Sydney

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 39 sq km from Sydney Harbour in the south to North Willoughby in the north and from Middle Harbour in the east to Parramatta River at Hunters Hill in the west.

The main suburbs include Artarmon, Cammeray, Castlecrag, Cremorne, Cremorne Point, Crows Nest, Gore Hill, Gladesville, Greenwich, Henley, Hunters Hill, Huntleys Point, Kirribilli, Lane Cove, Lane Cove West, Lavender Bay, Linley Point, Longueville, McMahons Point, Milsons Point, Naremburn, Neutral Bay, Northbridge, North Sydney, North Willoughby, Northwood, Riverview, St Leonards, Tarban, Waverton, Willoughby, Wollstonecraft, and Woolwich.

Products/Industries of the area:

North Sydney is the third largest business centre in Australia. It contains communications, property and business services, and wholesale and retail industries.

First Proclaimed



  • Joe Hockey (LP) 1996–
  • E C Mack (IND) 1990–96
  • J M Spender (LP) 1980–90
  • B W Graham (LP) 1966–80
  • W M Jack (LP) 1949–66
  • W M Hughes (NAT/IND/NAT/UAP/LP) 1922–49
  • G Ryrie (LIB/NAT) 1911–22
  • G B Edwards (LIB) 1910–11
  • D Thompson (FT) 1901–10

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating

Inner Metropolitan

Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 87 686

Informal Vote: 3.28%

Turnout: 93.09%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 37.78%
  • LP: 62.22%

Enrolment: 89 652

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.67%
  • Preamble Question 0.75%


  • Republic Question 94.34%
  • Preamble Question 94.33%

Enrolment: 88 755

Informal Vote: 4.02%

Turnout: 92.72%

Seat Status: Safe Liberal

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 36.78%
  • LP: 63.22%