2004 Profile of the division of Lyne

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir William Lyne 1844–1913, Premier of New South Wales 1899–1901.

Area and Location Description:

Lyne covers an area of approximately 9 291 sq km from Frederickton in the north to the southern boundary of Greater Taree City in the south and inland to the western boundaries of Greater Taree, Hastings and Kempsey Councils. The main towns include Bonny Hills, Crescent Head, Harrington, Kempsey, Kendall, Lake Cathie, Laurieton, North Haven, Old Bar, Port Macquarie, Taree, Wauchope and Wingham.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Timber, beef/dairy cattle, mixed farming, dairy products processing, fishing and oyster farming, clothing/auto parts manufacturing, boat building, engineering and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • VAILE, M (NP) 1993–
  • COWAN, D B (NCP/NP) 1980–1993
  • LUCOCK, P E (CP/NCP) 1952–1980
  • EGGINS, E J (CP) 1949–1952

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 92 182
  • Informal Vote: 5.39%
  • Turnout: 95.62%
  • Seat Status: Safe National
  • Two Party Preferred: NP: 63.03% | ALP: 36.97%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.