2001 Profile of the division of Lyne

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir William Lyne (1844–1913), a former Premier of New South Wales (1899–1901).

Area and Location Description:

It covers an area of approximately 9291 sq km from Frederickton in the north to the southern boundary of Greater Taree City in the south and inland to the western boundaries of Greater Taree, Hastings and Kempsey Councils.

The main towns include Bonny Hills, Crescent Head, Harrington, Kempsey, Kendall, Lake Cathie, Laurieton, North Haven, Old Bar, Port Macquarie, Taree, Wauchope and Wingham.

Products/Industries of the area:

Timber, beef/dairy cattle, mixed farming, dairy products processing, fishing and oyster farming, clothing/auto parts manufacturing, boat building, engineering and tourism.

First Proclaimed



  • Mark Vaile (NP) 1993–
  • D B Cowan (NCP/NP) 1980–93
  • P E Lucock (CP/NCP) 1952–80
  • E J Eggins (CP) 1949–52

For Current Members information, browse the Parliament of Australia Members page.

AEC – Divisional Office Contact Numbers and Addresses

Demographic Rating


Statistical information
3 October 1998 Election 6 November 1999 Referendum 10 November 2001 Election

Enrolment: 82 215

Informal Vote: 3.73%

Turnout: 96.15%

Seat Status: Fairly safe National

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 40.28%
  • NP: 59.72%

Enrolment: 84 455

Informal Vote:

  • Republic Question 0.63%
  • Preamble Question 0.74%


  • Republic Question 96.32%
  • Preamble Question 96.31%

Enrolment: 86 901

Informal Vote: 3.9%

Turnout: 95.92%

Seat Status: Safe National

Two Party Preferred:

  • ALP: 38.76%
  • NP: 61.24%