2004 Profile of the division of Flinders

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Matthew Flinders 1774–1814, well-known navigator and explorer. The adoption of the name Australia is due to him.

Area and Location Description:

Flinders covers an area of approximately 1 955 sq km from Portsea in the south west to Mt Martha, Baxter, Cranbourne South, Kooweerup and Lang Lang along the northern sector to San Remo and Dalyston in the south east. The division surrounds and encompasses Western Port Bay including French Island and Phillip Island. The main towns include Rye, Rosebud, Dromana, Hastings, Baxter, Kooweerup, Nyora, Cowes, San Remo and Dalyston.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Steel-rolling mill, dairy farms, fishing, poultry, wineries, orchards, light industries and tourist industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • HUNT, G (LP) 2001–
  • REITH, P (LP) 1984–2001
  • CHYNOWETH, R L (ALP) 1983–1984
  • REITH, P (LP) 1982–1983
  • LYNCH, P R (LP) 1966–1982
  • LINDSAY, R W L (LP) 1954–1966
  • EWERT, K W W (ALP) 1952–1954
  • RYAN, R S (UAP/LP) 1940–1952
  • FAIRBAIRN, J V (UAP) 1933–1940
  • BRUCE, S M (UAP) 1931–1933
  • HOLLOWAY, E J (ALP) 1929–1931
  • BRUCE, S M (NAT) 1918–1929
  • IRVINE, W H (ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1906–1918
  • GIBB, J (FT) 1903–1906
  • GROOM, A C (FT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 90 990
  • Informal Vote: 4.34%
  • Turnout: 95.30%
  • Seat Status: Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 61.11% | ALP: 38.89%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.