2004 Profile of the division of Fadden

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Arthur Fadden 1895–1973, Prime Minister of Australia August–October 1941.

Area and Location Description:

Fadden covers an area of approximately 524 sq km from Alberton and Steiglitz in the north, Guanaba and Clagiraba in the west, Nerang and Molendinar in the south, to the Pacific Ocean in the east. The main suburbs include Coombabah, Coomera, Helensvale, Hope Island, Labrador, Oxenford, Pacific Pines, Paradise Point, Pimpama and Runaway Bay.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The area is mainly residential with some market gardens, sugar cane farming and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • JULL, D (LP) 1984–
  • BEDDALL, D P (ALP) 1983–1984
  • CAMERON, D M (LP) 1977–1983

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 82 141
  • Informal Vote: 6.17%
  • Turnout: 92.21%
  • Seat Status: Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 65.28% | ALP: 34.72%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.