Victorian Senators have been decided

Updated: 20 June 2022

The Australian Electoral Commission has announced that the count for the election of six Senators for Victoria was completed today.

The successful candidates for the six Senate vacancies are (in order of their election):

  1. HENDERSON, Sarah – Liberal
  2. WHITE, Linda – Australian Labor Party
  3. McKENZIE, Bridget – Nationals
  4. STEWART, Jana – Australian Labor Party
  5. THORPE, Lidia – The Greens
  6. BABET, Ralph – United Australia Party

The Australian Electoral Officer for Victoria, Mr Nye Coffey, said the distribution of preferences was conducted today.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates,” Mr Coffey said.

All 2022 federal election results are available on the AEC’s tally room.

Invitation: Formal declaration of the result

Mr Coffey said the formal declaration of the result for the 2022 election of Senators for Victoria will take place at 10:00am on Tuesday 21 June.  It will be held at the AEC’s Victoria State Office at Level 8, 2 Lonsdale St Melbourne.   

All candidates and the media are welcome to attend. While RSVPs are not required you will need to attend slightly in advance of the starting time in order to sign in.