New South Wales Senators have been decided

Updated: 20 June 2022

The Australian Electoral Commission has announced that the count for the election of six Senators for New South Wales was completed today.

The successful candidates for the six Senate vacancies are (in order of their election):

  1. PAYNE, Marise – Liberal
  2. O’NEILL, Deborah – Labor
  3. CADELL, Ross – The Nationals
  4. McALLISTER, Jenny – Labor
  5. SHOEBRIDGE, David – The Greens
  6. MOLAN, Jim – Liberal

The Australian Electoral Officer for New South Wales, Ms Rebecca main, said the distribution of preferences was conducted today.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates,” Ms Main said.

All 2022 federal election results are available on the AEC’s tally room.

Invitation: Formal declaration of the result

Ms Main said the formal declaration of the result for the 2022 election of Senators for New South Wales will take place at 9:30am on Tuesday 21 June. It will be held at the AEC’s office on level 13, 59 Goulburn Street, Haymarket.

All candidates and the media are welcome to attend. While RSVPs are not required you will need to attend slightly in advance of the starting time in order to sign in.