Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) elections

2020 TSRA election

On 29 October 2020, the Returning Officer, David Stuart, determined in accordance with the Torres Strait Regional Authority Election Rules 2017, the order of the names of candidates on ballot papers to be used in this election. See the Media Release in relation to the 2020 Torres Strait Regional Authority Election. Further information on the election will be placed on this page as it comes to hand.

The TSRA Board consists of 20 elected members who are Torres Strait Islander or Aboriginal people living within a ward in the region. The election is held every four years. The 20 wards are:

  • Badu Island, Bamaga, Boigu Island, Dauan Island, Erub Island, Hammond Island, Iama Island, Kubin, Mabuiag Island, Masig Island, Mer Island, Ngurapai and Muralag, Port Kennedy, Poruma Island, Saibai Island, Seisia, St Pauls, TRAWQ, Ugar Island and Warraber Island.

All Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people enrolled within a contested ward who are 18 years of age and over are eligible to vote.

The most recent general election for the TSRA Board was conducted on Saturday 30 July 2016.

More information about the operations of the TSRA can be found on the Torres Strait Regional Authority’s website.


Nominations closed Wednesday 28 October 2020

Information sessions

Voter Information Sessions will occur in early November.


To be eligible to vote in the 2020 TSRA Election you must:

  • be a Torres Strait Islander or an Aboriginal person
  • be 18 years of age or older on polling day
  • be enrolled on the Commonwealth Electoral Roll for an address in a ward by 5pm on Friday 13 November 2020.

Postal voting

If you are unable to vote at a polling booth on polling day or at an early voting centre or mobile polling booth, you can apply to have your ballot paper sent to you in the mail.

Once your application is completed, it must be returned to the Returning Officer. Your postal vote application must be received by the Returning Officer by the last mail clearance on Thursday 26 November 2020. It is recommended you return your completed application as early as possible to allow sufficient time for the voting material to be sent to you for completion. It is recommended you email the completed application form if possible.


Scrutineers may, on behalf of the candidates, observe the voting, counting and distribution of preferences conducted by polling officials. Candidates cannot act as scrutineers for themselves.


The AEC is implementing a number of measures to protect the health of community members and staff.

The AEC has developed a COVID-19 Work Health and Safety Service Plan to oversee election delivery and ensure appropriate processes are in place so that nominations and voting are conducted in a safe way.

Contact information

Mr David Stuart, Returning Officer
Australian Electoral Commission
Cairns Address: Level 2, Commonwealth Centre
104 Grafton St, Cairns City
Postal address: PO Box 5024
Cairns QLD 4870
Telephone:  07 3834 3431 or 0427 691 014
Fax: 02 6293 7667

Torres Strait Regional Authority
Address: Level 1 Torres Strait Haus
46 Victoria Parade
Thursday Island
Telephone: 07 4069 0700
Toll-free: 1800 079 093
Fax: 07 4069 1879

More information

PVAs and the Election Guide can also be obtained from the Returning Officer and the Torres Strait Regional Authority.

Results of TSRA elections

Updated: 30 October 2020
Back to top