2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Mayo (SA)

Updated: 8 July 2016
South Australia
Current, boundary gazetted 16 December 2011.
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Mayo (2011) [PDF 463KB]
Map of the Division of Mayo (2011) [PDF 4.1MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after Helen Mayo 1878–1967, co-founder of the Mothers' and Babies' Health Association in 1927 and first woman elected to a University Council of Australia in 1914.
Area and Location Description:
Mayo covers an area of approximately 9 315 sq km from Springton in the North to Goolwa in the South. It includes the Adelaide Hills, Fleurieu Peninsula and Kangaroo Island. The country towns include Birdwood (part), Bridgewater, Crafers, Echunga, Gumeracha, Hahndorf, Langhorne Creek, Lobethal, Macclesfield, Mount Barker, Myponga, Oakbank, Stirling, Strathalbyn, Victor Harbor, Woodside and Yankalilla.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Dairying, beef, sheep, apples, pears, cherries, smallgoods, Kanmantoo copper mines, Jupiter Creek goldfields, forestry, natural spring water, wine, cereals, tourism and the army barracks at Woodside.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Briggs, J (LP) 2008–
Downer, A (LP) 1984–2008
Current Member Details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2013 federal election – Results for Mayo
2010 federal election – Results for Mayo
2008 by-election – Results for Mayo
2007 federal election – Results for Mayo
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Mayo
2013 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.