When is the next redistribution of my state or territory due?

Updated: 1 March 2023

The Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 (the Electoral Act) requires that a redistribution process should be undertaken when:

  • the number of members of the House of Representatives to which a state or territory is entitled has changed,
  • the number of electors in more than one-third of the electoral divisions in a state (or one of the electoral divisions in the Australian Capital Territory or the Northern Territory) deviates from the average divisional enrolment by over ten per cent for a period of more than two months, or
  • a period of seven years has elapsed since the last redistribution process was determined.

Indicative timing

Unless a redistribution is required to start earlier or is deferred, the next redistribution will be due to commence within 30 days after seven years have elapsed since the most recent redistribution was determined.

Indicative timing
State/territory Most recent determination of a redistribution was on … A redistribution would be required to commence within 30 days of …
New South Wales 25 February 2016 This redistribution will be directed to commence following the Electoral Commissioner’s determination of the number of members of the House of Representatives for each state and territory. This determination is scheduled to be made on or after 27 July 2023.
Northern Territory 7 February 2017 7 February 2024
Tasmania 14 November 2017 14 November 2024
Queensland 27 March 2018 27 March 2025
Australian Capital Territory 13 July 2018 13 July 2025
South Australia 20 July 2018 20 July 2025
Victoria 26 July 2021 26 July 2028
Western Australia 2 August 2021 2 August 2028