Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) elections


The TSRA Board consists of 20 elected members who are Torres Strait Islander or Aboriginal people living within a ward in the region. The election is held every four years. The 20 wards are:

  • Badu Island, Bamaga, Boigu Island, Dauan Island, Erub Island, Hammond Island, Iama Island, Kubin, Mabuiag Island, Masig Island, Mer Island, Ngurapai and Muralag, Port Kennedy, Poruma Island, Saibai Island, Seisia, St Pauls, TRAWQ, Ugar Island and Warraber Island.

All Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people enrolled within a contested ward who are 18 years of age and over are eligible to vote.

The most recent general election for the TSRA Board was conducted on Saturday 30 July 2016.

More information about the operations of the TSRA can be found on the Torres Strait Regional Authority’s website.

Postal voting

Postal votes must be received by the Returning Officer by last mail clearance on Friday 4 December 2020.


Scrutineers may, on behalf of the candidates, observe the voting, counting and distribution of preferences conducted by polling officials. Candidates cannot act as scrutineers for themselves.

Liaison Officer

The Liaison Officer’s job is to protect the rights of Torres Strait Islanders and Aboriginal people in this election. If the Liaison Officer believes that a voter is not a Torres Strait Islander or an Aboriginal person, they will complete a form for the Regional Panel to review. If the voter wishes to appeal against the objection they can complete the voter’s appeal section of this form.


The AEC is implementing a number of measures to protect the health of community members and staff.

The AEC has developed a COVID-19 Work Health and Safety Service Plan to oversee election delivery and ensure appropriate processes are in place so that nominations and voting are conducted in a safe way.

Contact information

Mr David Stuart, Returning Officer
Australian Electoral Commission
Cairns Address: Level 2, Commonwealth Centre
104 Grafton St, Cairns City
Postal address: PO Box 5024
Cairns QLD 4870
Telephone: 07 3834 3431 or 0427 691 014
Fax: 02 6293 7667

Torres Strait Regional Authority
Address: Level 1 Torres Strait Haus
46 Victoria Parade
Thursday Island
Telephone: 07 4069 0700
Toll-free: 1800 079 093
Fax: 07 4069 1879

Results of TSRA elections

Updated: 1 December 2020