2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Wannon (Vic)

Updated: 8 July 2016
Current, boundary gazetted 24 December 2010.
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Wannon (2010) [PDF 726KB]
Map of the Division of Wannon (2010) [PDF 33.9MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after the Wannon River which was named by Major Mitchell in 1836.
Area and Location Description:
The Division of Wannon is located in south-western Victoria. It covers an area of 32 047 sq km from the southern coastline of Victoria and the South Australian border and includes the shires of Glenelg, Southern Grampians, Moyne, Ararat, Warrnambool, Corangamite, Pyrenees and Central Goldfields. The main towns and areas of interest include Ararat, Avoca, Camperdown, Casterton, Hamilton, Koroit, Maryborough, Port Campbell, Port Fairy, Portland, Terang and Warrnambool.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Beef and dairy cattle, prime lamb, fine wool, grain, fodder, forestry, fishing, wineries, aluminium smelting, mineral sands mining, electricity generation, retail, wind farms, shipping exports including grain, wood chip, dairy products and live sheep. Significant tourist attractions include Lower Glenelg and Grampians national parks, the Twelve Apostles, coastal whale nursery, extinct volcanoes, goldfield fossicking, hang gliding and horse racing.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Tehan, D (LP) 2010–
Hawker, D (LP) 1983–2010
Fraser, J M (LP) 1955–1983
McLeod, D (ALP) 1951–1955
McKinnon, E D (LP) 1949–1951
McLeod, D (ALP) 1940–1949
Scholfield, T H (UAP) 1931–1940
McNeill, J (ALP) 1929–1931
Rodgers, A S (NP) 1925–1929
McNeill, J (ALP) 1922–1925
Rodgers, A S (LIB/NAT) 1913–1922
McDougall, J K (ALP) 1906–1913
Robinson, A (FT) 1903–1906
Cooke, S W (FT) 1901–1903
Current Member Details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2013 federal election – House of Representatives results for Wannon
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Wannon
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Wannon
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Wannon
2013 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.