2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Fenner (ACT)

Updated: 5 July 2016
Australian Capital Territory
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
28 January 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps and data:
Name derivation:
Named after Professor Frank Fenner AC CMG MBE FAA FRS FRACP FRCP, 1914–2010, eminent scientist of national and international renown who made significant contributions to improving the wellbeing of humanity.
459 sq km
Location description:
Fenner covers an area in the north of the ACT. The Division includes the suburbs of Ainslie, Turner (part), Braddon (part), Belconnen, Bruce, Cook, Gungahlin, Hall, O'Connor, the industrial area of Mitchell and the Districts of Kowan and Majura (part) and the Jervis Bay Territory.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Mainly residential with some light industry at Mitchell, agriculture, tourism and retail.
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
The first member for the Division of Fenner will be elected at the 2016 federal election.

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website to contact the Member for Fraser.
  • Leigh, A (ALP) 2010– (Note: following the 2016 redistribution the Division of Fraser became the Division of Fenner.)
  • McMullan, B (ALP) 1998–2010
  • Dargavel, S (ALP) 1997–1998
  • Langmore, J (ALP) 1984–1997
  • Fry, K L (ALP) 1974–1984
AEC Divisional Office:
Fenner Divisional Office