2016 federal election: profile of the electoral division of Canberra (ACT)

Updated: 5 July 2016
Australian Capital Territory
Date this name and boundary was gazetted:
28 January 2016
First election for this name and boundary:
2016 federal election
Maps and data:
Name derivation:
A locality name derived from an Aboriginal word which is held to mean 'meeting place'.
1 967 sq km
Location description:
Canberra covers an area immediately adjacent to the northern shore of Lake Burley Griffin including the suburbs of Canberra City, Acton, Turner (part), Braddon (part), Campbell, Pialligo and the District of Molongo (part). It extends southwards to the Territory/State boarder including the areas of Capital Hill, Weston Creek, Woden Valley, Stromlo, Tuggeranong, Oaks Estate and the industrial areas of Fyshwick and Hume.

Norfolk Island residents entitled to enrol in the Australian Capital Territory are enrolled in the Division of Canberra.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Mainly residential with some light industry at Fyshwick and Hume, tourism and retail.
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
  • Brodtmann, G (ALP) 2010–
  • Ellis, A (ALP) 1998–2010
  • McMullan, B (ALP) 1996–1998
  • Smyth, B M (LP) 1995–1996
  • Kelly, R J (ALP) 1980–1995
  • Haslem, J W (LP) 1975–1980
  • Enderby, K E (ALP) 1974–1975
AEC Divisional Office:
Canberra Divisional Office