2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Cowan (WA)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Western Australia
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Map of Division:
A4 map of the Division of Cowan (2008) [PDF 120KB]
Map of the Division of Cowan (2008) [PDF 3.1MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after Edith Cowan 1861–1932, the first female member of an Australian parliament, being elected to the Western Australia Legislative Assembly as the Member for West Perth 1921–24.
Area and Location Description:
Cowan covers an area of approximately 180 sq km from Banksia Grove in the north to Malaga in the south. The division covers parts of three Local Government areas - the City of Joondalup, the City of Wanneroo and the City of Swan. It includes the suburbs of Alexander Heights, Ashby, Ballajura, Banksia Grove (part), Cullacabardee, Darch, Girrawheen, Gnangara, Greenwood, Hocking, Jandabup, Kingsley, Koondoola, Landsdale, Madeley, Malaga, Marangaroo, Mariginiup (part), Pearsall, Sinagra, Tapping, Wangara, Wanneroo, Warwick and Woodvale.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Mainly retail and service industries, with some light industry, market gardens and vineyards.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Outer Metropolitan
Simpkins, L (LP) 2007–
Edwards, G (ALP) 1998–2007
Evans, R (LP) 1993–1998
Jakobsen, C A (ALP) 1984–1993
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Cowan
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Cowan
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Cowan
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.