2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Gippsland (Vic)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Current, boundary gazetted 24 December 2010.
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Gippsland (2010) [PDF 740KB]
Map of the Division of Gippsland (2010) [PDF 37.5MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after the area which was explored by Angus McMillan in 1839. It was named after Governor Sir George Gipps.
Area and Location Description:
The Division of Gippsland is located in eastern Victoria. It covers an area of approximately 33 054 sq km from the New South Wales border in the north-east to Port Albert in the south-west. The main towns include Bairnsdale, Churchill, Heyfield, Lakes Entrance, Maffra, Morwell, Orbost, Rosedale, Sale, Stratford, Traralgon and Yarram.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Beef, dairy, sheep and vegetable farming, cropping, sawmilling and forestry, fishing, tourism, the production of oil, gas and electricity, and correctional and defence services, including the RAAF Base at East Sale.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Chester, D (NP) 2008–
McGauran, P (NP) 1983–2008
Nixon, P J (CP/NCP/NP) 1961–1983
Bowden, G J (CP) 1943–1961
Paterson, T (CP/LCP) 1922–1943
Wise, G H (PROT/NAT) 1914–1922
Bennett, J (LIB) 1913–1914
Wise, G H (PROT) 1906–1913
McLean, A (PROT) 1901–1906
Current Member Details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Gippsland
2008 by-election – Results for Gippsland
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Gippsland
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Gippsland
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.