2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Flinders (Vic)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Current, boundary gazetted 24 December 2010.
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Flinders (2010) [PDF 884KB]
Map of the Division of Flinders (2010) [PDF 16.4MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after Matthew Flinders 1774–1814, well-known navigator and explorer. The adoption of the name Australia is due to him.
Area and Location Description:
The Division of Flinders is located south-east of Melbourne. It covers an area of approximately 1 952 sq km from Portsea in the south-west to Mt Martha, Baxter, Cranbourne South, Koo Wee Rup and Lang Lang along the northern sector to San Remo and Dalyston in the south-east. The division surrounds and encompasses Western Port Bay including French Island and Phillip Island. The main towns include Baxter (part), Cowes, Rye, Dalyston (Part), Dromana, Hastings, Koo Wee Rup, Nyora, Rosebud and San Remo.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Steel-rolling mill, dairy farms, fishing, poultry, wineries, orchards, light industries and tourist industries.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Hunt, G (LP) 2001–
Reith, P (LP) 1984–2001
Chynoweth, R L (ALP) 1983–1984
Reith, P (LP) 1982–1983
Lynch, P R (LP) 1966–1982
Lindsay, R W L (LP) 1954–1966
Ewert, K W W (ALP) 1952–1954
Ryan, R S (UAP/LP) 1940–1952
Fairbairn, J V (UAP) 1933–1940
Bruce, S M (UAP) 1931–1933
Holloway, E J (ALP) 1929–1931
Bruce, S M (NAT) 1918–1929
Irvine, W H (ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1906–1918
Gibb, J (FT) 1903–1906
Groom, A C (FT) 1901–1903
Current Member Details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Flinders
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Flinders
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Flinders
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.