2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Ballarat (Vic)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Current, boundary gazetted 24 December 2010.
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Ballarat (2010) [PDF 864KB]
Map of the Division of Ballarat (2010) [PDF 26.0MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after the city of Ballarat. The name is apparently derived from the Aboriginal word 'balaarat' meaning a resting or camping place.
Area and Location Description:
The Division of Ballarat is located to the west of Melbourne. It covers an area of approximately 4 652 sq km from Ballarat in the west to Bacchus Marsh in the east. The division's main centres are Ballarat, the state's largest inland city, and Bacchus Marsh. It also includes the towns of Ballan, Blackwood, Burrumbeet (part), Buninyong, Clunes, Creswick, Daylesford, Myrniong and Trentham. Ballarat shares boundaries with the divisions of Bendigo in the north, Gorton, Lalor and McEwen in the east, Corangamite and Corio in the south and Wannon in the west.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Primary industries include beef cattle, sheep, potatoes, apples, mineral water, market gardening and gold mining. Secondary industries include tourism, clothing and fabrics, sawmilling, engineering and confectionery.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
King, C (ALP) 2001–
Ronaldson, M (LP) 1990–2001
Mildren, J B (ALP) 1980–1990
Short, J R (LP) 1975–1980
Erwin, G D (LP) 1955–1975
Joshua, R (ALP) 1951–1955
Pittard, A C (LP) 1949–1951
Pollard, R T (ALP) 1937–1949
Fisken, A C W (UAP) 1934–1937
McGrath, D C (ALP/UAP) 1920–1934
Kerby, E T J (NAT) 1919–1920
McGrath, D C (ALP) 1913–1919
Deakin, A (PROT/LIB) 1901–1913
Current Member Details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Ballarat
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Ballarat
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Ballarat
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.