2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Sturt (SA)

Updated: 4 September 2013
South Australia
Current, boundary gazetted 16 December 2011.
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Sturt (2011) [PDF 275KB]
Map of the Division of Sturt (2011) [PDF 4.9MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after Captain Charles Sturt 1795–1869, explorer.
Area and Location Description:
Sturt covers an area of approximately 85 sq km east of the city of Adelaide, from Oakden and Hope Valley in the north to Glen Osmond in the south, taking in the foothills of the Mount Lofty Ranges. Suburbs include Athelstone, Burnside, Campbelltown, Dernancourt, Frewville, Gilles Plains, Glynde, Glenside, Hectorville, Highbury, Hillcrest, Holden Hill, Kensington, Klemzig, Magill, Marden, Paradise, Payneham (part), Rostrevor (part) and Tranmere.
Products/Industries of the Area:
University of South Australia campus, mainly residential with some commercial and retail activity.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Pyne, C (LP) 1993–
Wilson, I B C (LP) 1972–1993
Foster, N K (ALP) 1969–1972
Wilson, I B C (LP) 1966–1969
Wilson, K C (LP) 1955–1966
Makin, N J O (ALP) 1954–1955
Wilson, K C (LP) 1949–1954
Current Member Details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Sturt
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Sturt
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Sturt
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.