2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Grey (SA)

Updated: 4 September 2013
South Australia
Current, boundary gazetted 16 December 2011.
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Grey (2011) [PDF 437KB]
Map of the Division of Grey (2011) [PDF 1.9MB]
Download GIS data
Name Derivation:
Named after Sir George Grey 1812–98, Governor of South Australia from 1841–45.
Area and Location Description:
Grey covers an area of approximately 904 881 sq km from the Western Australian, Northern Territory, Queensland and New South Wales borders to Marion Bay on the Yorke Peninsula and Eudunda in the south. The main towns include Ceduna, Port Lincoln, Whyalla, Port Augusta, Roxby Downs, Coober Pedy, Port Pirie, Kadina, Maitland, Orroroo, Peterborough, Burra and Eudunda.
Products/Industries of the Area:
Lead smelting, steel industry, tourism, fishing, oil, gas, opals, iron ore, uranium, wheat, cattle, wool, forestry, salt, slate, aquaculture, copper and gypsum.
First Proclaimed/Election:
Demographic Rating:
Ramsey, R (LP) 2007–
Wakelin, B (LP) 1993–2007
O'Neil, L R T (ALP) 1983–1993
Wallis, L (ALP) 1969–1983
Jessop, D (LP) 1966–1969
Mortimor, J (ALP) 1963–1966
Russell, E H D (ALP) 1949–1963
Badman, A O (UAP/CP) 1937–1949
McBride, P A M (UAP) 1931–1937
Lacey, A W (ALP) 1922–1931
Poynton, A (FT/ALP/NAT) 1903–1922
Current Member Details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Grey
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Grey
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Grey
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.