2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Petrie (Qld)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Petrie (2009) [PDF 439KB]
Map of the Division of Petrie (2009) [PDF 1.1MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after Andrew Petrie (1798–1872), a noted civil engineer, pioneer, explorer and the first free settler in Brisbane 1837.
Area and Location Description:
Petrie covers an area of approximately 152 sq km to the north east of Brisbane. From the northern Brisbane suburbs, east of the Bruce Highway and north to Burpengary Creek. The area includes Redcliffe on Moreton Bay. It takes in parts of the local government areas of Brisbane City and part of Moreton Bay Regional Council. The main suburbs of the City of Brisbane include: Bald Hills, Bracken Ridge, Carseldine, Fitzgibbon and parts of Aspley and Bridgeman Downs. The localities in the Moreton Bay Regional Council include Clontarf, Deception Bay, Griffin, Kippa-Ring, Mango Hill, Margate, Newport, North Lakes, Redcliffe, Rothwell, Scarborough, Woody Point and part of Burpengary.
Products/industries of the area:
The area is mainly residential with some light industrial and commercial activities.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Outer Metropolitan
D'Ath, Y (ALP) 2007–
Gambaro, T (LP) 1996–2007
Johns, G T (ALP) 1987–1996
Hodges, J C (LP) 1984–1987
Wells, D M (ALP) 1983–1984
Hodges, J C (LP) 1974–1983
Cooke, N M (LP) 1972–1974
Hulme, A S (LP) 1963–1972
O'Brien, R C (ALP) 1961–1963
Hulme, A S (LP) 1949–1961
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Petrie
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Petrie
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Petrie
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.