2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Lilley (Qld)

Updated: 4 September 2013
Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Lilley (2009) [PDF 463KB]
Map of the Division of Lilley (2009) [PDF 1.4MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after Sir Charles Lilley (1830–97), former Premier and Chief Justice of Queensland.
Area and Location Description:
Lilley covers an area of approximately 147 sq km of north eastern Brisbane. The main suburbs include Banyo, Boondall, Brighton, Chermside, Chermside West, Deagon, Eagle Farm, Geebung, Kedron, McDowall, Northgate, Nudgee, Nundah, Pinkenba, Sandgate, Shorncliffe, Stafford Heights, Taigum, Virginia, Wavell Heights, Zillmere and parts of Aspley, Bridgeman Downs, Everton Park and Stafford.
Products/industries of the area:
The area is mostly residential but includes Brisbane's domestic and international airports, light and heavy engineering, sea-cargo facilities, chemical production, warehousing (civilian and military), oil refining and storage and various small industries.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Swan, W (ALP) 1998–
Grace, E (LP) 1996–1998
Swan, W M (ALP) 1993–1996
Darling, E E (ALP) 1980–1993
Cairns, K M (LP) 1974–1980
Doyle, F E (ALP) 1972–1974
Cairns, K M (LP) 1963–1972
Cameron, D J (ALP) 1961–1963
Wight, B (LP) 1949–1961
Hadley, J W (ALP) 1943–1949
Jolley, W A (UAP) 1937–1943
Cameron, D C (UAP) 1934–1937
Mackay, G H (NAT/UAP) 1917–1934
Stumm, J (LIB) 1913–1917
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Lilley
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Lilley
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Lilley
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.