2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Banks (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Banks (2009) [PDF 73KB]
Map of the Division of Banks (2009) [PDF 4.3MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after botanist Sir Joseph Banks 1743–1820, who accompanied Captain Cook on his voyage to Australia in 1770.
Area and Location Description:
Banks covers an area of approximately 49 sq km bordered by the Georges River in the south, Salt Pan Creek, Uranus Rd/Weston St and up in to Tarro/Polo St's to Bransgrove Rd across to Queen St and up to Milperra Rd on the West. Milperra/Canterbury Rds across to Belmore Rd down and along the South Western Hwy (M5) up to King Georges Rd and along Stoney Creek Rd in the North. Down to Croydon Rd, Xenia Ave, Andover St, Francis St up to Princes Hwy and Boundary Rd back to the Georges River on the East. The main suburbs include Allawah, Blakehurst, Connells Point, Hurstville, Hurstville Grove, South Hurstville, Kyle Bay, Lugarno, Mortdale, Oatley, Padstow Heights, Peakhurst, Peakhurst Heights, Penshurst and parts of Bankstown, Beverly Hills, Carlton, Kingsgrove, Narwee, Padstow, Punchbowl, Revesby and Riverwood.
Products/industries of the area:
Light manufacturing, commercial and service industries.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Melham, D (ALP) 1990–
Mountford, J G (ALP) 1980–1990
Martin, V J (ALP) 1969–1980
Costa, D E (ALP) 1949–1969
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Banks
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Banks
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Banks
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.