2010 federal election: Profile for the electoral division of Stirling (WA)

Updated: 25 October 2011




Western Australia

Contact details:

Contact the Stirling Divisional Office

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir James Stirling 1791–1865, the first Governor of Western Australia.

Area and Location Description:

Stirling covers an area of approximately 77 sq km from the Indian Ocean to the west and Mirrabooka and Dianella in the east. Suburbs include Balcatta, Balga, Carine, Gwelup, Hamersley, Karrinyup, Mirrabooka, Nollamara, North Beach, Scarborough, Stirling and Westminster, and parts of Dianella, Doubleview, Innaloo, Woodlands and Yokine.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light industrial areas at Osborne Park and Balcatta, market gardens, boat building, shoe factories, food processing, clothing and chemical production.

First Proclaimed/Election:




Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Keenan, M (LP) 2004–
  • McFarlane, J (ALP) 1998–2004
  • Cameron, E (LP) 1993–1998
  • Edwards, R F (ALP) 1983–1993
  • Viner, R I (LP) 1972–1983
  • Webb, C H (ALP) 1961–1972
  • Cash, E D (LP) 1958–1961
  • Webb, C H (ALP) 1955–1958

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.