Current profile for the electoral division of Perth (WA)

Updated: 25 October 2011




Western Australia

Contact details:

Contact the Perth Divisional Office

Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Perth which was founded in 1829 under Lieutenant-Governor James Stirling, who became Governor in 1831.

Area and Location Description:

Perth covers an area of approximately 78 sq km bordered by the Swan River to the south and east, the Mitchell Freeway and Charles Street to the west and the suburbs of Morley and Beechboro to the north. Suburbs include the districts of Ashfield, Bassendean, Bayswater, Bedford, Beechboro, East Perth, Eden Hill, Embleton, Highgate, Inglewood, Kiara, Lockridge, Maylands, Morley, Mt Lawley, Noranda, Northbridge, and parts of Coolbinia, Dianella, Menora, North Perth, Perth City, West Perth and Yokine.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Perth City is Western Australia's centre of Government and contains the State's commercial and professional district. Government House, parks and gardens combined with the city shopping complex are a feature of the division. Perth is the western gateway into Australia and has a thriving tourist industry.

First Proclaimed/Election:




Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Smith, S (ALP) 1993–
  • Charlesworth, R (ALP) 1983–1993
  • McLean, R M (LP) 1975–1983
  • Berinson, J M (ALP) 1969–1975
  • Chaney, F C (LP) 1955–1969
  • Burke, T P (ALP) 1943–1955
  • Nairn, W M (NAT/UAP) 1929–1943
  • Mann, E A (NAT) 1922–1929
  • Fowler, J (ALP/LIB/NAT) 1901–1922

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.