Current profile for the electoral division of Pearce (WA)

Updated: 25 October 2011




Western Australia

Contact details:

Contact the Pearce Divisional Office

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir George Pearce 1870–1952, Western Australian Senator 1901–38, Minister for Defence during World War I.

Area and Location Description:

The division consists of the eastern region of outer metropolitan Perth and surrounding rural areas. Pearce covers an area of approximately 14 401 sq km and includes the coastal area from Quinns Rock to Lancelin; the country centres of Gingin, Bindoon and Toodyay in the north, Northam and Grass Valley in the east, and York and Beverley to the south, plus the eastern portion of the Darling Ranges and the Swan Valley. Local government authorities in the division include the Shires of Beverley, Chittering, Gingin, Northam, Toodyay, and York; the majority of Mundaring Shire and the City of Swan; part of the City of Wanneroo and the eastern portion of Kalamunda Shire.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Fishing and tourism on the coast; grain crops, sheep, cattle, and fruit growing in the rural inland areas; restaurants, vineyards and wineries; RAAF pilot training at Pearce Air Base; Agricultural Colleges at Muresk and Narrogin, and historic country tourist centres at Beverley, Toodyay and York.

First Proclaimed/Election:




Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Moylan, J (LP) 1993–
  • Chaney, F M (LP) 1990–1993

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.