2010 federal election: Profile for the electoral division of Moore (WA)

Updated: 25 October 2011




Western Australia

Contact details:

Contact the Moore Divisional Office

Name Derivation:

Named after George Fletcher Moore 1798–1886, the first Advocate-General in Western Australia 1834.

Area and Location Description:

Moore covers a coastal, urban area of approximately 133 sq km from Mindarie and Clarkson in the north to Mullaloo in the south. Some of the larger suburbs are Clarkson, Duncraig, Hillarys, Heathridge, Mullaloo, Ocean Reef and Padbury.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mainly residential, with a commercial centre at Joondalup.

First Proclaimed/Election:




Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Washer, M (LP) 1998–
  • Filing, P (LP/IND) 1990–1998
  • Blanchard, C A (ALP) 1983–1990
  • Hyde, J M (LP) 1974–1983
  • Maisey, D W (CP) 1963–1974
  • Leslie, H A (CP) 1961–1963
  • Halbert, H V (LP) 1958–1961
  • Leslie, H A (CP) 1949–1958

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.