Current profile for the electoral division of Durack

Updated: 25 October 2011




Western Australia

Contact details:

Contact the Durack Divisional Office

Name Derivation:

Named after the Durack family of Western Australia, who were pioneers and developers of the Kimberley region.

Area and Location Description:

Durack covers an area of approx. 1 587 758 sq km from Kununurra in the north to Geraldton in the south. The main locations include the City of Geraldton and the towns of Broome, Carnarvon, Dampier, Derby, Exmouth, Kalbarri, Karratha, Newman, Port Hedland, Wiluna and Wyndham.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mainly arid land which is rich in mineral and ore deposits. Cattle and sheep are also grazed in some areas. Fishing, tropical fruits and vegetables are also important industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:




Demographic Rating:


Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.