2010 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Wills (Vic)

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after William Wills 1834–61, explorer and member of expedition which attempted to cross Australia in 1860–61.

Area and Location Description:

Wills covers an area of approximately 57 sq km from Fawkner and Glenroy in the north to Brunswick in the south and also includes Essendon Airport. The main suburbs include Glenroy, Gowanbrae, Hadfield, Oak Park, Pascoe Vale, Strathmore and parts of Brunswick, Coburg and Fawkner.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

This area contains many large industries including paper, tiles, hosiery, steel, paints, glass, textiles, Australian Defence Industries, joinery, electrical goods and various hardware industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Thomson, K (ALP) 1996–
  • Cleary, P R (IND) 1993–1996
  • Hawke, R J L (ALP) 1980–1992
  • Bryant, G M (ALP) 1955–1980
  • Bryson, W G (ALP) 1949–1955

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.