2010 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Melbourne Ports (Vic)

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Area and Location Description:

Melbourne Ports covers an area of approximately 44 sq km around the north and north-eastern shores of Port Phillip Bay. The suburbs include Albert Park, Balaclava, Caulfield, Elsternwick, Elwood, Middle Park, Port Melbourne, St Kilda and South Melbourne.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Car assembly plants, aircraft parts production, stevedoring and various manufacturing, commercial and retail industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Danby, M (ALP) 1998–
  • Holding, C (ALP) 1977–1998
  • Crean, F (ALP) 1951–1977
  • Holloway, E J (FLP/ALP) 1931–1951
  • Mathews, J (ALP) 1906–1931
  • Mauger, S (PROT) 1901–1906

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.