2010 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Melbourne

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Melbourne which was named in 1837 by Governor Bourke after Lord Melbourne, who was then Prime Minister of Britain.

Area and Location Description:

The Division of Melbourne covers an area of approximately 53 sq km from Merri Creek and the Yarra River in the east to the Maribyrnong River in the west and from Ascot Vale/Brunswick in the north to the Yarra River in the south. The division includes the central business district of the City of Melbourne and the suburbs of Abbotsford, Ascot Vale, Carlton, Carlton North, Clifton Hill, Collingwood, East Melbourne, Fitzroy, Fitzroy North (part), Flemington, Kensington, North Melbourne, Parkville, Richmond and West Melbourne. Alphington and Fairfield are shared with the division of Batman, Brunswick, and Brunswick East are shared with the division of Wills and Docklands is shared with the division of Melbourne Ports.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Heavy and light engineering, extensive manufacturing, commercial and retail activities (including Melbourne markets and central business district), dockyards, clothing and footwear industries, warehousing and distributing of white goods, building and other general goods.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Tanner, L (ALP) 1993–
  • Hand, G L (ALP) 1983–1993
  • Innes, U E (ALP) 1972–1983
  • Calwell, A A (ALP) 1940–1972
  • Malony, W R N (ALP/FLP) 1904–1940
  • McEacharn, M D (PROT) 1901–1904

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.