2010 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of McMillan (Vic)

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Angus McMillan 1810–65, pioneer and explorer who made several trips into Gippsland.

Area and Location Description:

McMillan covers an area of approximately 8 328 sq km from Pakenham in the west to Newborough in the east to Noojee in the north and to Wilsons Promontory in the south. The main towns include Drouin, Erica, Moe, Neerim South, Pakenham (part), Thorpdale, Trafalgar, Walhalla, Warragul, Yarragon, Mirboo North, Korumburra, Leongatha, Foster and Wonthaggi.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Dairy farming, fruit, forestry, potato growing, sawmilling, tourism and fishing.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Broadbent, R (LP) 2004–
  • Zahra, C (ALP) 1998–2004
  • Broadbent, R (LP) 1996–1998
  • Cunningham, B T (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Riggall, J P (LP) 1990–1993
  • Cunningham, B T (ALP) 1980–1990
  • Simon, B D (LP) 1975–1980
  • Hewson, H A (CP/NCP) 1972–1975
  • Buchanan, A A (LP) 1955–1972
  • Brown, G W (LP) 1949–1955

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.