2010 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Chisholm (Vic)

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Caroline Chisholm 1808–77, noted social worker and advocate of immigration to New South Wales.

Area and Location Description:

Chisholm covers an area of approximately 61 sq km in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne, from Box Hill North in the north to Oakleigh and Clayton in the south and from Glen Waverley and Mount Waverley in the east to Burwood and Chadstone in the west. The suburbs of Ashwood, Box Hill, Box Hill North, Box Hill South, Burwood, Chadstone, Clayton (part), Glen Waverley (part), Huntingdale, Mount Waverley, Oakleigh (part), Oakleigh East and Surrey Hills (part) are in the division.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The division has a diverse range of business, light and heavy industries including warehouses and metal, transport and electrical firms.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Burke, A (ALP) 1998–
  • Wooldridge, M (LP) 1987–1998
  • Mayer, H (ALP) 1983–1987
  • Harris, G M (LP) 1980–1983
  • Staley, A A (LP) 1970–1980
  • Hughes, W S K (LP) 1949–1970

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.