2010 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Casey (Vic)

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Lord Richard Casey 1890–1976, Governor-General of Australia 1965–69.

Area and Location Description:

Casey covers an area of approximately 409 sq km from Ringwood East in the west to Seville East in the east, Coldstream in the north and Monbulk in the south. Major suburbs/towns include Chirnside Park, Coldstream, Croydon (part), Gruyere, Kilsyth, Lilydale, Monbulk, Montrose (part), Mooroolbark, Mount Evelyn, Seville, Seville East, Silvan, Wandin and Wandin East.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Market gardens, orchards, nurseries, flower farms, vineyards, tourism, light manufacturing and engineering.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Smith, T (LP) 2001–
  • Wooldridge, M (LP) 1998–2001
  • Halverson, R (LP) 1984–1998
  • Steedman, A P (ALP) 1983–1984
  • Falconer, P D (LP) 1975–1983
  • Mathews, C R (ALP) 1972–1975
  • Howson, P (LP) 1969–1972

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.