2010 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Batman (Vic)

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after John Batman 1801–39, the early settler and explorer, known as the 'Founder of Melbourne'.

Area and Location Description:

The Division of Batman is located in Melbourne's northern suburbs. It covers an area of approximately 53 sq km from Reservoir in the north to Northcote in the south, with Merri Creek providing the western boundary and Darebin Creek and part of Macleod providing the eastern boundary. The suburbs of Alphington (part), Bundoora (part), Coburg North (part), Fairfield (part), Kingsbury, Macleod (part), Northcote, Preston, Reservoir and Thornbury are in this division.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light engineering, textiles, clothing and footwear.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Ferguson, M (ALP) 1996–
  • Howe, B L (ALP) 1977–1996
  • Garrick, H J (ALP) 1969–1977
  • Benson, S J (ALP/IND) 1962–1969
  • Bird, A C (ALP) 1949–1962
  • Brennan, F (FLP/ALP) 1934–1949
  • Dennis, S (UAP) 1931–1934
  • Brennan, F (ALP) 1911–1931
  • Beard, H E (ALP) 1910–1910
  • Coon, J (PROT) 1906–1910

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.