2010 federal election: Profile for the electoral division of Bass

Updated: 9 February 2011





Contact details:

Contact the Bass Divisional Office

Name Derivation:

Named after Dr George Bass (1771–1803), a naval surgeon, early settler and explorer. Bass Strait is also named after him.

Area and Location Description:

Bass covers an area of approximately 7 378 sq km from Launceston in the south to Flinders Island in the north. The City of Launceston and its suburbs, and the towns of Bell Bay, Bridport, George Town, Hadspen, Lilydale, Legana (part), Ringarooma and Scottsdale, as well as Cape Barren Island, Clarke Island & Flinders Island are in this division.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Aluminium and ferrous metal smelting, brewery, cattle (dairy and beef) farming, manufacturing, mining, ports and shipping, ship building, timber, tourism, fishing, wineries and wool.

First Proclaimed/Election:




Demographic Rating:



  • Campbell, J (ALP) 2007–
  • Ferguson, M (LP) 2004–2007
  • O'Byrne, M (ALP) 1998–2004
  • Smith, W L (LP) 1996–1998
  • Smith, S J (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Smith, W L (LP) 1984–1993
  • Newman, K E (LP) 1975–1984
  • Barnard, L H (ALP) 1954–1975
  • Kekwick, B H (LP) 1949–1954
  • Barnard, H C (ALP) 1934–1949
  • Guy, J A (ALP/UAP) 1929–1934
  • Jackson, D S (NAT) 1919–1929
  • Jensen, J A (ALP) 1910–1919
  • Storrer, D (PROT) 1903–1910

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.