2010 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Hindmarsh (SA)

Updated: 24 October 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir John Hindmarsh 1786–1860, first Governor of South Australia.

Area and Location Description:

Hindmarsh covers an area of approximately 73 sq km in inner western Adelaide. The main suburbs include Adelaide Airport, Brooklyn Park, Fulham, Glenelg, Grange, Henley Beach, Kidman Park, Kurralta Park, Morphettville, Plympton, Richmond, Semaphore Park, Torrensville, West Beach and West Lakes.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Aviation, tourism, small industries and numerous sporting venues.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Georganas, S (ALP) 2004–
  • Gallus, C (LP) 1993–2004
  • Scott, J L (ALP) 1980–1993
  • Cameron, C R (ALP) 1949–1980
  • Thompson, A V (ALP) 1946–1949
  • Makin, N J O (ALP/FLP/ALP) 1919–1946
  • Archibald, W O (ALP/NAT) 1910–1919
  • Hutchison, J (ALP) 1903–1909

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.