Commonwealth Electoral Division of Ryan (Qld)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:





Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Ryan AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Thomas Ryan (1876–1921), Premier of Queensland 1915–19.

Size & location description:

Ryan covers an area of approximately 441 sq km mainly on the western side of the City of Brisbane. The division is located north of the Brisbane River from Auchenflower in the east to Kholo in the west and north to Keperra and Ferny Grove and the boundary of the City of Brisbane in the north and west. The main suburbs and localities include Bellbowrie, Brookfield, Chapel Hill, Enoggera, Indooroopilly, Karana Downs, Kenmore, Keperra, Mitchelton, St Lucia, Taringa, The Gap, Toowong, Upper Kedron and parts of Ashgrove, Auchenflower, Bardon, Paddington and Lake Manchester.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

The area is mainly residential and acreage suburbs with some commercial and retail activities. The University of Queensland is located on the Brisbane River at St Lucia, while all of Brisbane's television transmitters are on Mount Coot-tha. The suburb of Sumner is partially devoted to light industry. By way of contrast, some farming still occurs in the outlying suburbs and the division also includes a large portion of Brisbane Forest Park.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Johnson, M (LP) 2001–
  • Short, L (ALP) 2001–2001
  • Moore, J (LP) 1975–2001
  • Drury, E N (LP) 1949–1975

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.