Commonwealth Electoral Division of Moreton (Qld)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:





Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Moreton AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located. Captain Cook named Moreton Bay in 1770 after the Earl of Morton, which was misspelt to become Moreton.

Size & location description:

Moreton covers an area of approximately 111 sq km from Fairfield in the north, Chelmer, Corinda and Oxley in the west, Eight Mile Plains and Kuraby in the east to Sunnyank Hills in the South. The main suburbs include Acacia Ridge, Archerfield, Chelmer, Coopers Plains, Corinda, Fairfield, Graceville, Kuraby, Macgregor, Moorooka, Nathan, Oxley, Robertson, Rocklea, Runcorn, Salisbury, Sherwood, Sunnybank, Sunnybank Hills, Tennyson, Willawong, Yeerongpilly and Yeronga and parts of Algester, Annerley, Eight Mile Plains and Tarragindi.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

The area is mainly residential with some light industrial and commercial activities. A light aircraft airport is in Archerfield.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Perrett, G (ALP) 2007–
  • Hardgrave, G (LP) 1996–2007
  • Gibson, G D (ALP) 1990–1996
  • Cameron, D M (LP) 1983–1990
  • Killen, D J (LP) 1955–1983
  • Francis, J (NAT/UAP/LP) 1922–1955
  • Wienholt, A (NAT/CP) 1919–1922
  • Sinclair, H (ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1906–1919
  • Wilkinson, J (IND LAB/ALP) 1901–1906

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.