Commonwealth Electoral Division of Maranoa (Qld)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:





Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Maranoa AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after the district name which was taken from the Maranoa River which passes through the area. The river was discovered by Sir Thomas Mitchell in 1846 and retained its Aboriginal name.

Size & location description:

Maranoa covers an area of approximately 731 297 sq km from the Northern Territory, South Australian and New South Wales borders to Diamantina in the north and Nanango, Warwick and Stanthorpe in the east. The main towns include Charleville, Chinchilla, Cunnamulla, Dalby, Goondiwindi, Kingaroy, Miles, Roma, St George, Stanthorpe, Tara, Thargomindah and Warwick.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Mainly primary production including coal, oil, gas, orchards, cotton, grain, cattle and sheep.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Scott, B (NP) 1990–
  • Cameron, I M D (NCP/NP) 1980–1990
  • Corbett, J (CP/NCP) 1966–1980
  • Brimblecombe, W J (CP) 1951–1966
  • Russell, C W (CP) 1949–1951
  • Adermann, C F (CP) 1943–1949
  • Baker, F P (ALP) 1940–1943
  • Hunter, J A J (CP) 1921–1940
  • Page, J (ALP) 1901–1921

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.